St. Patrick’s Episcopal Church began services under that name on January 4, 2009. However, prior to that first service, this Episcopal mission in Pooler enjoyed a rich history which began with the construction of the church in 1889. With The Reverend James Symons as vicar, the chapel was located on the family’s property behind the Symons’ home at the corner of Symons and Rogers Streets in downtown Pooler. Church members held fundraisers and donated most of the material and labor to build the chapel and its furnishings. After the consecration of the church as St. James Episcopal Chapel in 1890, a bell tower and Celtic cross were added.
According to church records, in 1981 the Episcopal Diocese of Georgia asked two congregations – St. James Chapel in Pooler and United All Souls Mission in Garden City – to combine their membership, to change the name to Holy Angels Episcopal Church and to move the building from its original location in downtown Pooler to its current locaton on Pine Barren Road. The church members added one new building and began work on a second on the 10-acre grounds.
In August 2008 Bishop Henry Louttit awarded the church a grant to complete the second building. At the completion of the new building, the church voted to change the name to St. Patrick’s as suggested by the youth of the church. When questions arose about the structural integrity of the original church building which was over 110 years old, architects, engineers and Savannah College of Art and Design students determined the structure was unsafe because of extensive termite damage. That building was torn down and the property cleared.
Today, worship services are held in the larger building, which doubles as both worship space and common meeting area. The Reverend Joshua Varner is our current vicar. St. Patrick’s is a vibrant and growing community today. Come and see!